Individuals & Societies: G8 I&S: Health and Medicine

"The first decade of the 21st Century brought a number of discoveries, mistakes, and medical advances that have influenced medicine from the patient's bedside to the medicine cabinet."

This is the second chapter of a book titled, "Health Status and Medical Treatment of the Future Elderly: Final Report"

"Although several medical technologies have been around since decades and are in the continuous process of development, some latest technologies are changing the way medicine would be practiced in the future."

Scroll down to 1950 to view some advances since that date.

As voted by Fellows and Members of the Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh, November 2010

Scroll down to view 1950 (Intraocular Lens) to 2006 (Artificial Liver)

Images from the History of Medicine (IHM) in NLM Digital Collections provides online access to images from the historical collections of the U.S. National Library of Medicine. IHM includes image files of a wide variety of visual media including fine art, photographs, engravings, and posters that illustrate the social and historical aspects of medicine dating from the 15th to 21st century. (Includes printable colouring pages.)

Historical Anatomies on the Web is a digital project designed to give Internet users access to high quality images from important anatomical atlases in the Library's collection. The project offers selected images from NLM's atlas collection, not the entire books, with an emphasis on images and not texts. Atlases and images are selected primarily for their historical and artistic significance, with priority placed upon the earliest and/or the best edition of a work in NLM's possession.

To view images from a work, go to Browse Titles and scroll through the list of scanned titles, which are arranged alphabetically by author. Click on the thumbnail image beside the title to view a gallery of images available from that work. Images are viewable in large jpeg format.

This is an excellent, brief introduction to the history of medicine.

HistoryWorld’s aim is to make world history more easily accessible through interactive narratives and timelines. Written by Bamber Gascoigne, it consists of about 300 narratives ( the alphabetical list runs from Aegean Civilization to Zoroastrianism) and some 10,000 events on searchable timelines.

This is a preview of the book which includes the introduction and most of Chapter 1, "Balance and Flow: The Ancient World."

Until the 1970s, writers on the history of medicine such as Charles Singer took a 'positivist' approach which saw the history of medicine as a vast sweep of steady progress from medieval times to the present...

"Women have always been central in providing medical care, whether offering remedies in the home, nursing or acting as herbalists. However, the medical profession has been male dominated for most of its history."

"Louis Pasteur (1822–1895) is revered by his successors in the life sciences as well as by the general public. In fact, his name provided the basis for a household word—pasteurized."

"One hundred years ago, the virus infected a third of the world’s population, killing 195,000 Americans in October 1918 alone."