LibGuides: Extended Essay: Research

ISU Library Databases and library catalogue

View all of the ISU Library research database links and passwords here.

Search the ISU Library Catalog: library.isumongolia.edu.mn

Boolean Operators AND OR NOT (McMaster University Library)

Boolean Modifiers "" * () (McMaster University Library)

Keywords vs subject headings

Choosing keywords (McMaster University Library)

Boolean handout

Boolean handout

Google Search Tips

Online courses and tutorials to build research skills

Research skill builders tutorials from Source
This is an excellent research skills video series from Source. If you are at school you do not need to log in. If you are working from home, you will need to enter the username and password. These are linked in the top box on the left titled "ISU Library database resources links and passwords."
Choosing & Using Sources: A Guide to Academic Research
From the Ohio State University: Engaging graphics, compelling examples, and easy-to-understand explanations make Choosing and Using Sources: A Guide to Academic Research, your most valuable, open access resource for completing research-based writing assignments and projects.

Quick tips for web searches

Scholarly vs popular sources

Scholarly vs Popular articles (UC Davis Library)

Academic research sources

JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to hundreds of academic journals in every extended essay discipline. Access is free from school but may be limited off campus. Be sure to create a personal account when connected at ISU in order to save your research.

Gale in Context High School
Explore thousands of topics across subjects including literature, science, history, and social issues using a variety of sources from popular publications to academic journals.
Translate content into other languages.
more...less...
Login details are in the ISU Library Databases document.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research
Free databases from EBSCO
EBSCO provides some free research databases covering a variety of subjects for students, researchers and librarians.
Teaching Commons: OERs from Leading Colleges and Universities
The Teaching Commons brings together high-quality open educational resources from leading colleges and universities. Curated by librarians and their institutions, the Teaching Commons includes open access textbooks, course materials, lesson plans, multimedia, and more.

Research is a conversation

Evaluating your research question

Elicit

Elicit is an AI tool developed by the non-profit, Ought, which uses language models to extract data from and summarize research papers. As a DP student or teacher at ISU, you have a full subscription which allows you to use up to 12,000 credits in support of your academic research. We anticipate Elicit being most useful in research for Extended Essays and for IAs in the Sciences and Humanities. Students and teachers simply need to create an account with their ISU Google accounts for full access. See the tutorial videos below for further instructions or reminders about how to use this AI tool.